Jeanette Gray Finnegan Jr.

Pages: 294
Published: October 2016
ISBN: 978-1-59715-142-9

Living in the shadow of the mighty Cape Hatteras Lighthouse,
miles from the village, Ellie, Luke, and Blake exist
in a world of spirits, mystical wolves, and stories told by
their grandfather, the keeper of the lighthouse. In this fivevolume
series, the three children of the Jennette family travel
back in time to discover the origin of their ancestors and
the events that shaped the civilization of Cape Hatteras
Island. Throughout the series, islanders live as they did
when only an occasional mail boat kept them connected to
the rest of the world—before a bridge linked the island to
the mainland, before tourists flocked to the area during the
summer season, and before the government became involved
in managing the land. Isolated from others, they created a
life of comfort and community, one that is long lost. In each
subsequent volume, the Lighthouse Kids meet the people
and experience the events that gradually transformed Cape
Hatteras Island to the popular resort area it is today.
In Pirates, the children are transported back in time to meet
their more colorful ancestors. They begin to take adventures
away from the family compound, as their mobility is enhanced
by majestic horses. Learning of an old mansion in the
woods, they are awestruck when Grandpop takes them there.
Frequent secret visits form a bond between the children and
the mysteries held by the 250 year old dwelling. Ellie’s power
grows, as do the boys. Luke is introduced to Blackbeard, and
uncovers a family secret! Community events bring the villages
together to celebrate their collective history of Pirates,
as the island begins to stir at the looming threat of WWII.